Think you need to see ‘Dumb and Dumber To’? Think again

I hope they collected enormous checks for this crap.

I hope they collected enormous checks for this crap.

You think when you show your son movies like Robin Hood, Men in Tights, Airplane!, Ace Venture, Pet Detective, Spaceballs and so on, you’re bonding over silliness and fun, as well as passing along a humorous legacy.

Then your son sees the commercial for Dumb and Dumber To and won’t stop talking about it. And you realize you only have yourself to blame.

My son, daughter and I trekked to the theaters to see Dumb and Dumber To. Afterward, my son wanted to recite line after line, laughing again at his favorite parts. But his sister and I weren’t playing along, and the gag rehashing instead turned into a bitter argument between my daughter and son about funny and/or less than humorous moments from the film.

So I guess what I’m saying is, Dumb and Dumber To divides families.

The situation is more dire than that, though. It’s not funny. At all.

Of course, you may say, “Adam, that’s just your opinion.” Well, yes, on the one hand. On the other, I have a half-full theater of people who would support me on that one. We all sat there together, for the most part not laughing, even cracking smiles. I’ve been part of audiences that laughed our collective asses off: The Hangover, Pineapple Express, South Park: Bigger, Longer, Uncut, There’s Something About Mary. Hell, man, even Disorderlies.

There was none of that with Dumb and Dumber To. It was mostly collective boredom, a unity in our desire to see it end and be on our way.

Don’t watch Dumb and Dumber To. You’ll wish you hadn’t.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

