Favorite albums of 2014 … so far

My favorites full-length recordings from the first quarter of 2014. Drumroll please …

Fuck Off Get Free We Pour Light on Everything, Silver Mt. Zion – I’m sure a more sophisticated/pretentious reviewer would have some sort of post – “post-punk,” “post-rock,” etc. – to toss in here. Silver Mt. Zion rages in a unique way. The only touchstone I can offer is Sonic Youth, but it’s not a easy-to-connect relationship. Experience the wonderful noise for yourself.

Girl, Pharrell Williams – Pharrell is just so damn smooth. There’s not a soft track on here, although I don’t know that it has the type of blowout single (I’m not a Happy guy) that he’s often associated with.

Give the People What They Want, Sharon Jones & The Dap Kings – Being a good person doesn’t mean you’ll get ahead. Being a bad person doesn’t mean you’re doomed to live a horrible life. Now if we could just get the idiots in Washington, D.C., to appreciate the logic.

Half the City, St. Paul & the Broken Bones – Blue-eyed soul of the first order. These guys know how to get down. I’m seeing them live in May, and I couldn’t be looking forward to it more.

Out of the Black EP, Royal Blood – Is it too early for the second coming of Queens of the Stone Age? Loud, feedbacky stoner rock. Prepare to bang your head.

Say Yes to Love, Perfect Pussy – Frontwoman Meredith Graves and her three xy chromosome bandmates have made an album that would make Beavis scream “Yes! Yes! Fire! Fire!” Lean, full-throttle, hardcore punk rock.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Favorite albums of 2014 … so far

  1. Thanks for sharing this. I’m always on the lookout for new and fresh music to listen to. I will head over to YouTube to hear more from St. Paul & The Broken Bones.

  2. […] it to another level was St. Paul and the Broken Bones. I’ve already raved about them on my best albums of 2014 (so far) list, and I was psyched for the live show. I’ve never had a come to Jesus moment, but I think […]

Leave a Reply

